Awards and Sponsorships

The ACPBC is pleased to offer  “The ACPBC Undergraduate Student Member Scholarship”.  The Scholarship is awarded annually to an ACPBC student member enrolled in third or fourth year of an undergraduate Chemistry program at a British Columbia university. All applicants should be student members of the ACPBC. The award is equally based on academic performance in all completed Chemistry courses and service to the Chemistry profession.  Announcement is made in September for a deadline at the end of October.  See the News section for announcements.

List of past ACPBC Scholarship winners:

2017 Lavraj Lidher

2016 Cassidy Conover

2015 Sydney Acton

2014 Anis Fahandej-Sadi

2013 Cate Collins

2012 Wilson Chim

2011 Megan Willis

2010 Afton Hiscox


The ACPBC also sponsors events in BC directed towards high school  and university chemistry students.  In the current year (2015) we have supported:

The Western Canada Undergraduate Chemistry Conference.  This is an annual conference of undergraduate student research.  This year it was held in Kelowna May 7-10.

The TRU Chemistry Contest for Chem 11 and Chem 12 students.  This event involves and exam written by over 2500 high schools students from schools all across BC. There is also hands-on experimental work in Kamloops.

The Vancouver Island Undergraduate Chemistry Symposium.  This is an evening event where short talks on chemistry are presented by undergrads from post-secondary institutions.